USC Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies

The University of Southern California Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies, established in 2009 and sponsored by the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures at the University of Southern California, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eastern Europe or Eurasia in the fields of literary and cultural studies in the previous calendar year. The University of Southern California Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies carries a cash award and is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Maria TaroutinaThe Icon and the Square: Russian Modernism and the Russo-Byzantine Revival (Penn State University Press)

Honorable Mention: Edyta M. BojanowskaA World of Empires: The Russian Voyage of the Frigate Pallada (Belknap Press of Harvard University Press)

Rules of eligibility for the University of Southern California Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies competition are as follows::

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2019 to be eligible for the 2020 competition).
    • The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • Works may deal with any area of Eastern Europe, Russia, or Eurasia.
    • The competition is open to works of scholarship in literary and cultural studies, including studies in the visual arts, cinema, music, and dance.
    • Authors may be of any nationality as long as the work is published in the United States and originally published in English.
    • Textbooks, collections, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
    • Self-published works are also ineligible.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes. New for 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office (address in the footnote). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “University of Southern California Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASEEES main office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard.

Questions should be directed to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at

2020 University of Southern California Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies Committee

The winner of the USC Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies will be chosen by the following scholars:

Lisa Wakamiya, Florida State U, 2018-2020
(mailing address):
Lisa Wakamiya, Associate Professor
Department of Modern Languages and Linguistics
Florida State University
Diffenbaugh 362
Tallahassee, FL 32306-1540

Diane Nemec Ignashev, Carleton College, 2019-2021
*(email address): *send electronic copy if possible
(mailing address): 
D. Nemec Ignashev
Dept of German & Russian
Carleton College
One North College St.
Northfield MN 55057

Jon Stone, Franklin and Marshall College, 2020-2022
(mailing address):
Jon Stone
Associate Professor of Russian & Russian Studies
Dept. of German, Russian and East Asian Languages
Franklin & Marshall College
PO Box 3003
Lancaster, PA 17604-3003

(for customs use): 
412 648 9809