Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History

The Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History, established in 2009 and sponsored by the Institute of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies at the University of California, Berkeley, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eastern Europe or Eurasia in the field of history in the previous calendar year. The Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History carries a cash award. The award is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Sarah Cameron, The Hungry Steppe: Famine, Violence, and the Making of Soviet Kazakhstan (Cornell University Press)

Honorable Mention: Natalia Nowakowska, King Sigismund of Poland and Martin Luther: The Reformation before Confessionalization (Oxford University Press)

Rules of eligibility for the Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2018 to be eligible for the 2019 competition)
    • The book must be originally in the form of a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors
    • Authors may be of any nationality as long as the work is originally published in English
    • Works should deal with any area of Russia, Eastern Europe, or Eurasia
    • The competition is limited to works of historical scholarship broadly understood
    • Textbooks, collections, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible

Nominating Instructions

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes.

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office (address in the footnote). Nominations must be received no later than April 15.

Submissions should be clearly marked “Reginald Zelnik Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASEEES main office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard.

Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at

The winner of the Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History will be chosen by the following scholars:

Christine Ruane, U of Tulsa, 2017-2019, Chair
(mailing address):
Prof. Christine Ruane
189 Cameron Station Blvd
Alexandria, VA 22304

Jeff Sahadeo, Carleton U (Canada), 2018-2020
(mailing address):
Jeff Sahadeo
Institute of European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
Carleton University
1125 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa ON K1S-5B6

Keely Stauter-Halsted, U Illinois at Chicago, 2019-2021
(mailing address):
Keely Stauter-Halsted
133 S. East Ave.
Oak Park, IL 60302

(for customs use): 
412 648 9809