Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies

The Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies, established in 2019 and sponsored by the Ukrainian Research Institute at Harvard University, recognizes a distinguished book in the field of Ukrainian studies that was published in the previous calendar year. The Pritsak Prize carries a cash award and is presented annually at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

The primary founder of Harvard’s Ukrainian Research Institute and the first Mykhailo S. Hrushevs’kyi Professor of Ukrainian History at Harvard, Omeljan Pritsak was an esteemed scholar of broad scope and erudition, who treated Ukrainian history and culture in close connection with the history and culture of its neighbors.

Maria G. RewakowiczUkraine’s Quest for Identity: Embracing Cultural Hybridity in Literary Imagination, 1991-2011 (Rowman and Littlefield)

Honorable Mention: Nicholas DenysenkoThe Orthodox Church in Ukraine: A Century of Separation (Northern Illinois University Press)

Rules of eligibility for the Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies competition are as follows:

  • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2019 to be eligible for the 2020 competition).
  • Only works originally published in English are eligible. Authors may be of any nationality. The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
  • The competition is open to works in any discipline, dealing with any aspect of Ukrainian studies, including the works that put Ukrainian experiences in a broad comparative context.
  • Textbooks, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible. Self-published books are also ineligible.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes. New for 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office (address in the footnote). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASEEES main office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard.

The winner of the 2020 Pritsak Book prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Heather Coleman, University of Alberta (Canada), Chair, 2019-2020
(mailing address): 
Heather Coleman
Department of History and Classics
2-28 Tory Building
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T6G 2H4 Canada

Catherine Wanner, Penn State U, 2019-2021
(mailing address):
Catherine Wanner
History and Anthropology
302 Weaver Building
Penn State University
University Park, PA 16802

Michael Naydan, Penn State U, 2019-2021
(mailing address):
Michael Naydan
236 Burrowes Building
Department of Germanic and Slavic Langauges
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA 16802

(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items. 
412 648 9809