Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies

The Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies (formerly the ASEEES Orbis Book Prize), established in 1996 and sponsored by the Kulczycki family, former owners of the Orbis Books Ltd. of London, England, is awarded annually for the best book in any discipline, on any aspect of Polish affairs, published in the previous calendar year. The Kulczycki Book Prize carries a cash award. The award is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

2022 WINNER 

Aleksandra KremerThe Sound of Modern Polish Poetry: Performance and Recording after World War II (Harvard University Press)

Honorable Mention: Kenneth B. MossAn Unchosen People: Jewish Political Reckoning in Interwar Poland (Harvard University Press)

Rules of eligibility for the Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2021 to be eligible for the 2022 competition).
    • Only works originally published in English, outside of Poland, are eligible
    • The book must be a monograph predominantly on Polish studies, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • Strong preference will be given to works by first-time authors.
    • The competition is open to works in any discipline, dealing with any aspect of Polish affairs.
    • Textbooks, translations (including self-translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible. Self-published works are also ineligible.
    • Previous winners of the Kulczycki/Orbis Prize are ineligible. 

Nominating Instructions

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for the Kulczycki Book Prize. As of 2020, books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). Where possible, please email a pdf copy to newsnet@pitt.edu. The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “ASEEES Kulczycki Book Prize Nomination.” 

Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at newsnet@pitt.edu

The winner of the Kulczycki Books Prize in Polish Studies will be chosen by the following scholars:

Malgorzata Mazurek, Columbia U, 2020-2022 (Chair)
Print submissions are preferred. Please send nominations to:

Malgorzata Mazurek
Uniwersytecka 6/13, PL 02-036 Warsaw (Warszawa), Poland 

Where needed, Professor Mazurek will accept ebooks sent to: mm4293@columbia.edu

Benjamin Paloff, U of Michigan, 2021-2023
Print submissions are preferred. Please send nominations to:
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures, 3040 Modern Languages Building, 812 E. Washington Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48103-1275
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted by emailing:

Kathryn Ciancia, U of Wisconsin-Madison, 2022-2023
Professor Ciancia prefers print books. Please email newsnet@pitt.edu for the mailing address.
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to:ciancia@wisc.edu

(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.
412 648 9809

*The committee members are selected in consultation with the Polish Studies Association.