Ed A Hewett Book Prize

The Ed A Hewett Book Prize, established in 1994 and sponsored by the University of Michigan Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph on the political economy of Russia, Eurasia and/or Eastern Europe, published in the previous year. The Hewett Prize carries a cash award and is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Ed Hewett was a distinguished alumnus of the University of Michigan, (PhD, economics), a prominent scholar, a fine colleague, and an internationally respected member of the field. The Hewett Book Prize was established in 1994 in his honor to recognize and encourage the high standard of scholarship that he so admirably advanced in the area of his interests, and was sponsored by the National Council for Eurasian and East European Research from 1994 to 2012.

Artemy M. Kalinovsky, Laboratory of Socialist Development: Cold War Politics and Decolonization in Soviet Tajikistan (Cornell University Press 

Rules of eligibility for the Hewett book prize competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2015 to be eligible for the 2016 competition).
    • Only works originally published in English in the form of monographs, chapters in books, or substantial articles preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors, are eligible.
    • Works must be on the political economy of Russia, Eurasia and/or Eastern Europe.
    • Textbooks, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes.

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office (address in the footnote). Nominations must be received no later than April 15.

Submissions should be clearly marked “Hewett Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASEEES main office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard.

Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at newsnet@pitt.edu

The winner of the Hewett Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:


Dinissa Duvanova, Lehigh U, 2017-2019, Chair
(mailing address): 
Dinissa Duvanova
International Relations
Lehigh University
201 Maginnes Hall
9 West Packer Avenue
Bethlehem, PA 18015

Gerald Easter, Boston College, 2019-2021
(mailing address): 
Gerald M. Easter
Department of Political Science
McGuinn Hall
Boston College
140 Commonwealth Avenue
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467

Doug Rogers, Yale U, 2019-2021
(mailing address):
Douglas Rogers
Yale University
Department of Anthropology
10 Sachem Street
New Haven, CT 06511-3707