Distinguished Contributions Award

Established in 1970 the Association's Distinguished Contributions to Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies Award honors eminent members of the profession who have made major contributions to the field through scholarship of the highest quality, mentoring, leadership, and/or service to the profession. The prize is intended to recognize diverse contributions across the Slavic, East European, and Eurasian studies field.

Diane P. Koenker, Director and Professor of Russian and Soviet History, University College London School of Slavonic and East European Studies

The Committee accepts nominations in writing or via e-mail from any member of ASEEES.

Submit the nomination letter(s) to the Committee Chair.

The nomination letter should include: biography focusing on the individual's distinguished achievments in Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies; a list of publications, editorships, curatorships; a list of awards and prizes;his or her contributions in mentoring and training; and his or her involvement in and service to ASEEES and/or the profession, if any.

Self-nomination is not accepted.

Committe members also survey the field for possible awardees.

The deadline for nominations is April 1.

The winner of the Distinguished Contributions to Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies Studies Award will be chosen by:

Amy Nelson, Virginia Tech, 2017-2018; Committee Chair, anelson@vt.edu

Kristen Ghodsee, U of Pennsylvania, 2017-2019

Lauren Kaminsky, Harvard U, 2018-2020

Jan Kubik, U College London (UK), 2016-2018

Eric Naiman, UC Berkeley, 2017-2019