Davis Center Book Prize in Political and Social Studies

The Davis Center Book Prize in Political and Social Studies, established in 2008 and sponsored by the Kathryn W. and Shelby Cullom Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies at Harvard University, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eurasia, or Eastern Europe in anthropology, political science, sociology, or geography in the previous calendar year. The Davis Center Book Prize carries a cash award. The award is presented at the ASEEES National Convention.

Rules of eligibility for the Davis Center book prize competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2019 to be eligible for the 2020 competition)
    • The book must be originally in the form of a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors
    • Authors may be of any nationality as long as the work is originally published in English
    • Works may deal with any area of Russia, Eurasia, or Eastern Europe
    • The competition is open to works of scholarship in anthropology, political science, sociology, or geography, and also to social science works that cross strict disciplinary boundaries
    • Textbooks, collections, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
    • Self-published books are also ineligible

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes. New for 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Davis Center Book Prize Nomination.” 

Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at newsnet@pitt.edu

The winner of the Davis Center Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Jeffrey Kopstein, UC Irvine, 2020-2022, Chair:
Ebooks will be accepted. Please send them to: kopstein@uci.edu
(mailing address):
Jeffrey Kopstein
Department of Political Science
UC Irvine
5225 Social Science Plaza
Irvine CA 92697-5100

Emily Channell-Justice, Harvard U, 2020-2022
(mailing address):
Emily Channell-Justice
Ukrainian Research Institute
34 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

Ola Onuch, U of Manchester (UK), 2020-2022
(email address [preferred]):
(mailing address):

Olga Onuch
The School of Social Sciences
Arthur Lewis Building
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
M13 9PL

(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.
412 648 9809