Barbara Jelavich Book Prize

The Barbara Jelavich Book Prize, established in 1995 and sponsored by the Jelavich estate, is awarded annually for a distinguished monograph published on any aspect of Southeast European or Habsburg studies since 1600, or nineteenth- and twentieth-century Ottoman or Russian diplomatic history in the previous calendar year. The Jelavich Book Prize carries a cash award and is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Barbara Jelavich was a distinguished and internationally respected scholar whose numerous publications included Modern Austria, Russia's Balkan Entanglements, and the two-volume History of the Balkans. The Jelavich Prize was established in 1995 in her memory to recognize and to encourage the high standards she set in her many areas of scholarly interest and to promote continued study of those areas.

R. Chris Davis, Hungarian Religion, Romanian Blood: A Minority’s Struggle for National Belonging, 1920– 1945 (University of Wisconsin Press)

Rules of eligibility for the Jelavich book prize competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2020 to be eligible for the 2021 competition), and the book must have been published in the United States.
    • The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • Authors must be scholars who are citizens or permanent residents of North America.
    • The competition is open to works on any aspect of Southeast European or Habsburg studies since 1600, or 19th- and 20th-century Ottoman or Russian diplomatic history.
    • Textbooks, translations (including self-translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible. Self-published works are also ineligible.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for the Jelavich prize. As of 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Barbara Jelavich Book Prize Nomination.” 

Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at

The winner of the Jelavich Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars: 

Kimberly Elman Zarecor, Iowa State U, 2019-2021, Chair
Ebooks will be accepted. Please email them to
(mailing address): 
Kimberly Zarecor
820 Wilson Ave
Ames, IA 50010

Sean McMeekin, Bard College, 2020-2022
(mailing address):
Sean McMeekin
15 Trout Creek Road
Germantown NY 12526 

Theodora Dragostinova, Ohio State U, 2021, 2023-2024
(mailing address): TBA

(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items. 
412 648 9809