Board of Directors

2020 Board

  • President - Jan Kubik, Rutgers U / U College London
  • Vice President / President Elect - Sibelan Forrester, Swarthmore College
  • Immediate Past President - Mark Steinberg, U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Treasurer - Daniel Peris, Federated Investors, 2018–2020
  • Member-at-large - Janet Johnson, CUNY Brooklyn College, 2018-2020
  • Editor, Slavic ReviewHarriet MuravU of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Executive Director - Lynda Park, U of Pittsburgh

The Vice President is elected annually by ASEEES members and is designated President-Elect. After serving one year as Vice President, the Vice President becomes President the following year. After one year in the presidency, the President is designated Immediate Past President and serves an additional year as a member of the Board of Directors

Two members-at-large are elected each year by ASEEES members, to hold office for three (3) years.

One (1) elected graduate student representative

Candidates for graduate student representative can self-nominate or be nominated by a faculty member who is a member of ASEEES. The Nominating Committee will review all nominations and select two to be candidates. One is elected by ASEEES members to hold office for two (2) years.

  • Robert Niebuhr, Arizona State U; Council of Regional Affiliates representative, 2018-2020
  • Keith Brown, Arizona State U; Council of Institutional Members representative, 2019-2021
  • Joseph Lenkart, U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; CLIR representative, 2020-2022
  • Kate Pride Brown, Georgia Tech; Sociology (American Sociological Association) representative, 2020-2022
  • Jeremy Tasch, Towson U; Association of American Geographers (AAG) representative, 2019-2021
  • Julie Hemment, U of Massachusetts Amherst; American Anthropological Association (AAA) representative, 2018-2020
  • Juliet Johnson, McGill U (Canada); American Political Science Association (APSA) representative, 2018-2020
  • Angela Brintlinger, Ohio State U; American Association for Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages (AATSEEL) representative, 2019-2021
  • Steven Nafziger, Williams College; Economics (American Economics Association) representative, 2019-2021
  • Asif Siddiqi, Fordham U; American Historical Association (AHA) representative, 2020-2022

Organization/disciplinary representative must be a member of good standing in both ASEEES and the representing organization and holds office for three (3) years. AATSEEL representative is nominated by the AATSEEL Executive Committee.

For historical board information, please see the lists of Current and Past Members of the Executive Committee and of the Board of Directors.