Southern Conference on Slavic Studies

bear trackASEEES's oldest and largest affiliate, SCSS's purpose is "to promote scholarship, education, and in all other ways to advance scholarly interest in Russian, Soviet, and East European studies in the Southern region of the United States."


Primary Contact: Sharon Kowalsky

  • President: Olavi Arens, Department of History, Armstrong State University
  • President-Elect: Sharon Kowalsky,Department of History, Texas A&M University-Commerce
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Harold Goldberg, Department of History, University of the South
  • Past-President: Judith Kalb,Department of Russian, University of South Carolina
  • Executive Council:
    • Katya Jordan, Slavic Lang., U of Virginia
    • Elena Osokina, Department of History, University of South Carolina
    • Karen Petrone, Department of History, University of Kentucky
    • Elizabeth Skomp, Russian Language and Literature, University of the South
    • Alice Pate, Department of History, Kennesaw State University
    • Kevin Reese, UNC-Chapel Hill

SCSS's 2018 annual conference will be held on March 22-24 at the Omni Hotel Charlotte. Refer to the SCSS website for more information about the 2018 SCSS conference as well as information about past meetings.

Dues for the Southern Conference on Slavic Studies for the calendar year (January-December) are:

  • Life Membership: $ 250
  • Annual Membership (income over $40,000): $ 30
  • Annual Membership (income under $40,000): $ 20
  • Student or Contingent Faculty Membership: $ 10

Please make your check payable to SCSS. Include regular mail, email, and phone contact information. Send to:

Harold J. Goldberg
Department of History
735 University Ave.
University of the South
Sewanee, TN 37383